I Can’t Keep Still,

IMG_9159

For as long as I can remember, I have an issue with remaining listless. I get bored easily. Even staying home for a day at times and doing absolutely nothing can make me go crazy.

I’ve always piled up my schedule. It started way back in secondary school, where I balanced schoolwork, Indian Dance as a CCA, and my Drama Elective. And then came JC, when Theatre Studies plus Indian Dance saw me staying in school till around 9pm on a regular basis.

When uni came, I have to admit I got too excited. I started off with acting with NUS Stage, and then decided I wanted to try something completely different and joined the cheerleading squad. Practice was crazy, and suffice to say my grades suffered. Then I decided I wanted to be a writer and started writing for the school magazine. If all that wasn’t enough, I went and got myself an external contributing writer stint.

I entered the working world pretty early as compared to some of my peers. Fresh from graduating, I began my full-time job. Work has consumed me, but I soon found that outside of my job, I didn’t amount to anything much. Yes, I got bored. After all, my job became more of a commitment and responsibility as opposed to something I had the liberty of choosing to do because I enjoyed it. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy what I do very much (on most days). But a job is a job at the end of the day.

So recently, I got involved in theatre again. Albeit its a small thing, I’m actually looking forward to it. Finally, I’m indulging in some of my interests outside of my job. It even makes sacrificing my Saturday mornings for the next few months to attend rehearsals worth it.

Honestly, I’m still not too sure how this is all going to pan out. Knowing me, I pile my schedule up like crazy and then get overwhelmed and suffer some kind of breakdown or exhaustion.

But from all my years of taking on much more than I can actually handle, I’ve realised that I’ve never regretted it. These little things that take up your time actually make for some of the best memories in my life.

So I’m hopeful. I’m hopeful that I’m going to enjoy this process, no matter how exhausting, stressful or tiring it may be.

After all, sacrifices are needed to live a meaningful life.

Standard

Leave a Reply

