The Comfort Zone,

I’ve been thinking a lot about the comfort zone recently.

On a scale of 1 to 10, I thought I would rate my bravery to explore beyond my comfort zone as a 7. I mean, I lived in Colombia for approximately two months and risked getting shot in the head and/or getting kidnapped…I kid, Colombia is actually not as dangerous as people think. You just need to know the places to stay away from. In spite of its ‘rougher’ areas, Colombia is still the most beautiful and welcoming country I’ve ever been in and I strongly encourage everyone to visit. (Side note: I’ve been watching Narcos and it’s making me miss Medellin sooo much)

Back to the point.

I think recently I’ve been doing things that are out of my comfort zone. First it was trekking up Mt. Batur and then it was abseiling down Goa Jomplang (which I will blog about soon I hope), both of which were in Indonesia. These activities are relatively simple, but although I’ve always wanted to do such things, I was much too often plagued by worries. But it’s like biting off a small chuck of chocolate. Once you’ve had that tiny piece, you find yourself craving more. I want to do more adventurous stuff in the future!

But actually that’s not the point of this post hahaha.

The point is – when it comes to bigger life decisions, I find myself choosing my comfort zone. For example, in the past couple of weeks, I was pondering over a job prospect in another country. Usually, I would be excited to get the opportunity to work outside of Singapore. But the country in question was less than ideal, not even a country I am even keen to visit on holiday.

So, I decided to let it go. Now I’m not sure if I turned it down because the prospect wasn’t a good one, or I was just unwilling to leave my comfort zone. Not forgetting, the older you get, the more you need to choose practical over ideal. It’s very easy for someone to say he/she would gladly uproot his/her life and move somewhere elsewhere. But when the opportunity presents itself, not everyone will take it up. There’s actually so much at stake as well. Family, friends, maybe a lover…Who is going to look after your parents while you’re away? Is it going to be easy to come back and pick up where you left off?

How do you muster up the courage to take the plunge and follow an idealistic dream and ignore the consequences and the paralyzing fear that may or may not come with your choice? That’s what I’ve been pondering over.

Disclaimer: I don’t regret the decision I made. At least, not at the moment. Maybe the right opportunity will come knocking on my door another time and I won’t even have to muster up any courage, because I would be 100% willing to take the leap.

Standard

Leave a Reply

