Time is a funny thing,

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The past week or so I’ve been sitting at the same spot that I used to sit at exactly one year ago. I couldn’t help but feel how different things are, just one year on. One year ago I wouldn’t have predicted I would be in this phase, which just proves how time is such a funny thing. One day you look back and you realise how much can truly change in such a short span of time, even the smallest of details.

On another note, I’ve been at this job for a year now. I’ve reached my target – stay at least a year at my first job. Honestly, right now I don’t know where I’m headed. Am I staying or leaving? I’ve learnt a lot this whole year and of course I’m pretty sure I have lots more to learn. But maybe a new experience would do me good? I guess I’ll just take things as they come.

I think I’m pretty proud of how committed I have been. Responsibility is one of the traits I pride myself in, and I think I’ve done well in this aspect. Even on days when I was too emotional to even get out of bed, I dragged my ass to work and didn’t miss a day (except for legit reasons). Of course there are times when I get a tad bit frustrated, but I guess I haven’t strayed from my goal. I came here for experience, and now I have one year’s worth to add to my journey. So a pat on the back for me!

Of course, pay-wise and on other scales, I’m probably lagging behind when compared to my peers. But I don’t think I’m one to compare myself to others, my journey is my own. I know one day I’ll get there. Right now I’m learning. Success will come later, there’s still time. All you need is the drive to see it to fruition one day.

Just a little quote I stumbled on that I thought was quite apt:

“I’m writing a first draft and reminding myself that I am shoveling sand into a box so that later I can build castles.”

Standard

Leave a Reply

